Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

One of the songs that we sung at church this past weekend was “Come Thou  Fount of Every Blessing”. I like hymns in general for the way that they contain timeless observations about the life of faith. This hymn in particular has two lines that I keep in my mind often:

Tune my heart to sing Thy grace

This line speaks to how we can be out of tune to God. I like that it’s a desire to want to get back to a place to praise Him. My decisions will draw me nearer to or farther from God, and this speaks to the familiar trek back to Him.

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love

Ah, the regularity of my wandering heart – even to the One who I’ve committed my life! The life of faith has its ups and downs. What I want isn’t always what I know I want to want. I like the honesty of the line.

Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

Leave a Reply

