Shared Meals

You don’t know people until you’ve shared a meal with them.

I don’t know who inspired me with this thought, but eating with people is a habit that I’ve honed. Food is a great equalizer: everyone has to eat! Our guard comes down when we partake in this ritual of consuming food, which facilitates a deeper level of interaction and sustained familiarity.

I’m living away from home and have been content to keep my place deliberately utilitarian and, quite frankly, uninviting.  But since I’ll be around in my current location for the foreseeable future, I’ve decided to have more shared meals with interesting people I encounter. One way to start is to cook for them, and I’ve hosted a few dinner parties already. Things are off to a great start, and I’m looking forward to not only more home-cooked meals, but also new friendships.

 

Leave a Reply

